First Blog Post – Guacamole!

WELCOME

I’m Shivani and I have a passion for cooking…and eating! I have just finished my GCSE exams and am suffering from a case of the summer holiday boredom, so I thought what better way to cure it than creating a food blog where I can share some delicious vegetarian recipes? Also, having something to do takes the anticipation away from a day which is looming like a black cloud…RESULTS DAY. (only 40 days to go!)

The first recipe I am going to share is for guacamole, a fresh avocado dip which tastes divine. This recipe is ridiculously easy and makes a great accompaniment to tortilla crisps, quesadillas, burritos and even tastes good on toast!guac3

I first fell in love with this creamy dip when I went to a Mexican restaurant in London, where the waitress came to our table with a large bowl and made the guacamole before our very eyes! It was delicious, although seeing how easy the recipe was to make made me wonder why we had paid £10 for it…

Upon my return home I recreated the dish with whatever ingredients I had in the house. And now I will share it with you, lucky reader!

The first step is to prepare all your ingredients and place them in a mixing bowl: half an avocado, onion, tomatoes, garlic powder, salt and pepper, coriander, and a squeeze of lime (or in my case, lemon as we didn’t have any limes). Exact quantities are in the full recipe below.guac

 

Step two is to mix all the ingredients together to your desired consistency. And that’s it -fresh guacamole in minutes which tastes 10 times better than the shop bought version. Here is the finished product:guac2

Enjoy!


Guacamole

Serves: 2

Time: 10 minutes

You will need:

  • 1/2 an Avocado
  • 1 tablespoon chopped Red Onion
  • 3 baby Plum Tomatoes, finely diced
  • 1 tablespoon chopped Coriander
  • A pinch of Garlic Powder
  • A pinch of Pepper
  • A pinch of Salt
  • A squeeze of Lime

Method:

  1. Prepare all ingredients and place into a medium sized bowl.
  2. Stir the ingredients together, mashing up the avocado into smaller pieces.
  3. Put the guacamole into a serving bowl and enjoy!
Can be stored in the fridge for about 24 hours.

Guacamole.jpg

 

2 thoughts on “First Blog Post – Guacamole!

Leave a Reply

